Skip to main content

3 Messages

 • 

154 Points

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 7:12 PM

Closed

Shutting down a website without deleting it.

I have a client who wishes to take down her website for a time, but not delete it. How do I go about doing this?

This conversation has been merged. Please refer the main conversation:

Responses

774 Messages

 • 

184.8K Points

7 years ago

Hello Sivad,

After reviewing your account, I see that you have many websites. If you only want to take down one site, so that you don't close the entire account, you can unpublish the site. This can only be done through our newer SiteBuilder Plus software. This is a free upgrade if you would like us to add it to your account, just let us know.

3 Messages

 • 

154 Points

7 years ago

Thanks, Mike!

How do I get my comfort level up, switching to SiteBuilder Plus? I've been told there's 'no going back' once I do this. Is that correct?

I appreciate the flexibility of working on my sites offline. Can you assure me that this is a definite 'step up' as far as building sites are concerned? And, will you eventually require me to do this anyway? (Are you phasing out the downloaded SiteBuilder?)

774 Messages

 • 

184.8K Points

7 years ago

It is not entirely impossible to not switch back, but some issues can arise. Each version of SiteBuilder has certain features the other one does not. This can force you to remove certain elements from some sites, when those features on not available. Since you have a lot of sites in your account, you might have a lot of maintenance to do if you switch. At this time our company has not decided if they will discontinue the desktop version, but the web based version does have added features and is more than likely the way of the future.