What's the difference between saving my website and publishing it?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

In the software I see both a save option and a publish option. What's the difference?
Photo of Homestead FAQ

Homestead FAQ, Employee

  • 42,636 Points 20k badge 2x thumb

Posted 7 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Homestead FAQ

Homestead FAQ, Employee

  • 42,636 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi,

Once you have made changes to your website, you have the option to either save or publish your changes.

  • Saving changes you have made will only save them within the area that you edit your site. Those changes won't be visible to people online. This option works best if you are making drastic changes on a page that you don't want people to see until it is done.


  • Publishing changes will save the changes and make them visible to people who go to your website. This option should be used most often as any changes you make are typically ones you want to go live right away. Publishing will save a copy to our servers so if something happens to your website, there is a backup on our servers. The servers keep up a copy for 3 weeks before refreshing.

Hope that helps!

Did this answer help? If so, please mark 'good answer' below for other people to find this post. Also like us on Facebook and Twitter to learn more about how to grow your business.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.