Timeline for closing Prostores

  • 1
  • Announcement
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Important message for Storefront customers.


Great news! We have obtained an extension on the deadline for the closure of Prostores. Below is an outline of how the shutdown will progress.

1) January 2nd, 2014
Your store will be able to take orders and you will be able to fulfill orders. Store owners will be unable to access product management and store design.

2) January 21st, 2014
The stores will be placed in Browse no Buy mode. Visitors will be able to view your products but there will be no ability to purchase from the platform.

3) March 3rd, 2014 Final Shutdown of Prostores websites
Live stores will be closed, and the store manager removed from your account. We will be unable to retrieve the old store at this point. If you wish to keep any data from Prostores, you must export it prior to this occurrence.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of John6579

John6579

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Drew. Thanks for responding to my comment. Does this mean that I can keep our current store open until a later date (February TBA) and transition to Big Commerce once the new store is set up properly? I don't really understand what you wrote. It sounds like we won't be able to do anything with the store after January 2 and customers won't be able to purchase anything after January 15.

The design on Big Commerce doesn't look much like our current store at all. Worse, it won't work because of the way you set up the product detail and options. I don't see how we will be able to accept orders by January 2 in its present format. If the public sees this it will threaten the reputations of our artists, not to mention our gallery. We will have to close.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Bascially, you won't be able to perform any management or administrative tasks in the old store after Jan 2nd. The store will be online and functioning normal until Jan 15th.

The most critical date for most people will be Jan. 15th as customers will not be able purchase products on that date. You'll want to make sure your new store is up and running and the domain is pointed to the new store prior to Jan. 15th.
Photo of Pamper3058

Pamper3058

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Can't get new storefront to work --- Followed steps but it keeps giving us an error message. I have now called four different days (on HOLD CURRENTLY) at different times and no one answers.

Can someone supply a phone number where someone answers? Our email address to send a working phone number is info@pampermetonight.com. You guys have our phone number on record. PLEASE CALL , EMAIL OR TEXT.

We have definitely been more than patient. We know what it is like to go thru a migration and need a beacon of hope at this point. We have been on hold for more than 3 hours (3 calls combined time) and we have YET TO GET THROUGH TO ANYONE (still on hold).

Thank you!!
Photo of Pamper3058

Pamper3058

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Today is Wednesday, January 22, 2014; Time is 4:46 Eastern Time
(still on hold 35 minutes later and holding)

Have called four different times and different times of the day. We followed the instructions to the letter and it didn't work. Can't get into BigCommerce using the url you provided and the RESET password. BigCommerce shows that we successfully changed password but then when we try to get into the store, it give us an error message.

WE NEED HELP and apparently a lot of other people too. PLEASE email, text or call us to let us know WHEN SOMEONE CAN HELP US.

Our phone number is on file. You can CALL, EMAIL or TEXT us as to when someone can assist us: info@pampermetonight.com or custserv@pampermetonight.com. PLEASE CALL * EMAIL or TEXT US !!!!!
Photo of Lazaro9749

Lazaro9749

  • 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
i think like we should change provider and cancell the accounts
Photo of Judy2563

Judy2563

  • 160 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
DREW, I REALLY NEED TO TALK TO SOMEONE, CONVERTED WEBSITE IS NOT OKAY, I HAVE CALLED IN AND BEEN ON HOLD FOR 45 MINUTES AND LONGER 4 TIMES. I FEEL THAT I AM HELD HOSTAGE BECAUSE I CANNOIT MOVE FORWARD.....................CAN YOU HAVE SOMEONE CALL ME BETWEEN 11 AND 2 CENTRAL TIME. JUDY 724-834-7920.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Judy2563, We are very sorry that we do not have the resources to make outgoing phone calls. All of our Bigcommerce support agents are handling incoming calls as quickly as possible, and we apologize for the long hold times.

We realize this is very challenging for everyone so we tried to create as many useful help topics here on the community as possible. We are approaching 300 help topics so there is almost no question that has not already been answered. You can view the main Bigcommerce page here: https://community.homestead.com/homes... and also use the search tool at the top/right of the page to search for any help topics you may need.

Mike
Photo of Nic9866

Nic9866

  • 340 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Judy,

They did an absolutely horrible job converting my store. I wound up having to do an export of my products to excel. Deleted every last one of the attributes that they added in. Edited virtually every part of my products and re-uploaded to bigcommerce. I then had to recreate all of the attributes for the products. It was a nightmare. I have since been working on redesigning my template where their interpretation of what my site should look like was to say the least... a bit off.

I think the Bigcommerce platform will be nice when all the hair that I pulled out trying to get it going grows back. Good luck with yours.

-Nic
Photo of Robert7379

Robert7379

  • 292 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
It is January 1 and I need to make important changes to my products however I seem to be locked out of that process. Your dates above said access to products would be available until Jan 2. Did you jump the gun?
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
As of today you won't be able to edit products in the old store. I realize this is very confusing and frustrating for many of you but the best advice I can give is to focus on the new store so that you don't have to edit product and other settings twice.

Mike
Photo of Dana0200

Dana0200

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I have a SiteBuilder website and am using StoreFront for online orders. I have not received a password to log-in to BigCommerce to begin my required transfer steps and can not get anyone on the phone for help.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You'll need this link to set your password and access the site: http://store-y6c59.mybigcommerce.com/.... You'll probably want to bookmark it for easier retrieval.

Next focus on these four steps: https://community.homestead.com/homes...
Photo of Dana0200

Dana0200

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Please re-read my comment...I have not received a password to log-in to BigCommerce.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You have to create your own password. You'll need the URL I posted above. Follow the steps her to set the password: https://community.homestead.com/homes...
Photo of Heather0827

Heather0827

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hello; I have not been able to get a response to reset my password from Big Commerce. I have no access to my store and am very frustrated.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hi Heather0827, I'm not quite sure where you are stuck. Did you get your personal url yet? If not here it is: store-nn9fbj.mybigcommerce.com/admin

If you have not done so... follow the steps here https://community.homestead.com/homes...
Photo of Kathryn3995

Kathryn3995

  • 160 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
When our site transfered over the design of it changed. However, with a little effort and knowledge of html coding, I was able to "clean up" the site. Perhaps people with trouble in this could find a friend who knows coding to get the design the way they want. It is not impossible, but you really have to know what you are doing because it can make it worse.
Photo of Sarkis4455

Sarkis4455

  • 60 Points
what will happen to us with customized web designs? i don't know about html or that kind of stuff, and i am not willing to pay more for something that i already paid to your design team.

please advice.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Any custom websites have already been transferred over and the designs set up by someone on our end.
Photo of Kristie1953

Kristie1953

  • 154 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
why is my logo all of a sudden so FAT?
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Are you talking about your avatar here in the community? It would depend on the original image. The community forces the image into a square without regard to proportions. If you create the image in a square already it should not have a problem. On your store it looks good to me.

Drew
Photo of phil3529

phil3529

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
I have been on hold one hour and seven minutes and counting. This time. ugh.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Sorry about the recent long hold times. If there is something we can help you with here on the Community feel free to post you question or explain the problem here.
Photo of Robert7379

Robert7379

  • 292 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I am still waiting to be given assess to my store and the specific set of instructions on how to do so. When will this occur? Please confirm that someone is working on my store and please confirm that you have my current and proper email address so you can send me the instructions. I
Thanks, Robert
store address: http://stores.homestead.com/hstrial-b...
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
This is a great conversation that's separate from the main topic, so I created a new topic to continue the discussion. Please reference the new topic here: Access to my store
Photo of Bart2076

Bart2076

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Your callous disregard for my time is disgusting! Phone wait times, the added workload placed on me to complete the transition and fix the haphazard dumping of material from a fully functional, professionally prepared site that was carefully crafted to reflect our standards in the products we produce. Clearly my time will be better spent finding a different service provider. I don't know who you think you are, but I am DONE allowing you to waste my time and money!
Photo of Ken0985

Ken0985

  • 60 Points
On hold for 35 minutes now without being able to speak to a person. Want to make the final export to the new storefront today but cannot reach anyone. This is crazy!
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
ken0985, You are welcome to post questions here and we'll be happy to help you out.

Mike
Photo of Mike6581

Mike6581

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
instead of my sitting on the phone all day waiting for yall. have someone call me I have customers wating for on me and yall are costing me time and money now. my number is 904-477-9745. call asap anytime. ill be waiting
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Sorry Mike6581,

All of our support agents take inbound calls only. You are welcome to post your questions here on the Community if it helps.

Mike
Photo of Angelo5265

Angelo5265

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Spent years designing my store and affiliating it with desired customers. This bigcommerce move is crap. Don't understand any of it and furthermore going to close the store and spend a week or so with ebay prostores. REALLY DISGUSTED WITH THE WHOLE CRAPPY SETUP. HOMESTEAD MUST BE MAKING A FORTUNE WITH THIS MOVE!!!
Photo of Eric2969

Eric2969

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
How do I start my BigCommerce Store? I have no emails with directions to get started? I do not have an email, login, nor passwords to get started. I simply receive a message when trying to log into my Homestead account.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
This is a great conversation that's separate from the main topic, so I created a new topic to continue the discussion. Please reference the new topic here: get started
Photo of bbamsales8323

bbamsales8323

  • 70 Points
Store is a mess
Photo of bbamsales8323

bbamsales8323

  • 70 Points
bbamsales8323 ????
is not my store name who changed it on my website
my website has been messed up for month now with no help
i will be dropping my account with homestead and taking my web-store some where
else & be asking for a refund of the money i spent & the time it took me to put
this store on homestead
this is said this mess looks like the Obama care website
I spent hours today try to talk via phone with homestead
Photo of Chad3045

Chad3045

  • 92 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This is costing us a lot of money! Absolutely unacceptable!!! The old websites worked just fine so why switch??????
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,678 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hello Chad3045, There old system had many deficiencies that many users were not aware of. This was a decision that was made over several years and much research went into choosing a new system that would satisfy the needs of as many people as possible and yet provide a user friendly interface. If you do some checking around on the internet, your research will probably reveal the same thing. The old Prostores system is quite antiquated by today's standards and the Bigcommerce system is by far one of the most advanced, robust systems on the market today.

If you, or anyone has more detailed question, please view the Q&A and post to the related topic; https://community.homestead.com/homes...

Mike

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.