What is "transfer lock" and why should I Opt out of it (or not)

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 11 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: 7 days of inactivity

When I edited my pyhsical address, I saw a checkbox re "opt out of transfer lock?" ...
... what does that mean?
Photo of AnotherPaul

AnotherPaul

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 11 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Michelle C

Michelle C, Employee

  • 35,652 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hello,

The transfer lock is an option that plays a part in the domain transfer process. When you register a domain name it does have to be with that original registrar for a minimum of 60 days prior to being transferred away. If you have already had the domain for some time and just need to update registration information the transfer lock is a feature allows you to opt out of having to wait 60 days to transfer the domain. Unless you are planning on transferring the domain it is not going to have much of an impact but go ahead and leave it checked. 

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.