What happens to the old domain name after it's deleted?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archiving inactive content

I want to change my domain name to something else and am wondering what happens to the old domain name when I do. Does Homestead keep it, own it, or can I 'purchase' it, without the services attached? I just don't want another company using my domain name. Thank you in advance for your help.
Photo of Kevin J8539

Kevin J8539

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • confused.

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 48,094 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
If you delete the domain, it will continue to be registered until the expiration date, at which point it will go through an end of life cycle and become available for someone else to purchase.
If you want to keep the domain so no one else can use it, you would simply keep it on your account. You cannot outright purchase a domain, but you can have it registered through Homestead and just not use it.
Photo of Kevin J8539

Kevin J8539

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thanks for the quick answer, I very much appreciate the help.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.