Website erased after updating and trying to publish!!!

  • 0
  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Acknowledged
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archiving inactive content

I've been working on updating my shop website for the Christmas season and I just finished updating it a few minutes ago. Then I had trouble publishing it and it FINALLY told me I needed more space...fine. So I went to file manager and started deleting old images that are no longer on the published site which I usually do when this problem arises. I kept getting connection error messages from Homestead pop up and then suddenly my website was gone. This is the second time this has happened to me and I'm not happy right now. I don't have time to recreate this whole website again!!! I had a file saved of it before I began my redesign but I don't know how to get this to upload??? Even better would be to get the saved website design before it crashed............ Can anyone help me????
Photo of benjuswordmaster2514

Posted 1 month ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 20,772 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hello benjuswordmaster2514

I am sorry for the trouble you are experiencing. We can put in a ticket to restore your site to how it appeared when we did a backup over the weekend. This is a service that will charge your account $50. Unfortunately, we cannot get anything back that was recently changed as we only do a site backup once per week. My recommendation, if you find you run out of space often and have had this happen before, would be to add disk space so you don't have to delete files out of your file manager and risk deleting the wrong file. This would be an additional $2/month. Let me know if you would like me to add that, and also please let me know if you would like me to submit that site restore ticket.
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 20,772 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
On a side note, another recommendation I might offer would be to look into rebuilding your site on our newer builder. This will give you a mobile friendly site, which I can see your current site is not, and overall it is a more updated and modern browser. Specifically, I thought I would mention it to you because Website Builder features Save History, so if you make a change on your site that you do not like, you can just go back to a previous version instead of us having to submit a ticket to restore it for a charge.
How do I access the new builder to create a site?
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 259,680 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It appears that the template was changed several times. When you change the template, the site is reset to a blank template.
To use the new Websitebuilder, you can follow these instructions to create a new site.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.