Using Sitebuilder Plus during the migration and assuring I don't lose files from desktop

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: We have archived this topic as it has either reached a resolution or has become inactive.  If you believe this topic should not have been archived, please let us know, and we would be happy to review it.  You may continue to access this topic as needed fo

Sitebuilder plus loaded and i chose one of my sites, and then am presented with:

Start from save point? - After you saved, we detected changes to your website.  Do you want to start from the time you saved, or from the time of the last change?

 

                                 Start from save point                   Start from last change 

Is my assumption that the term "after you saved" refers to Sitebuilder Plus only correct?

Therefore, that would mean that the changes must have come from Sitebuilder desktop (and not a miracle from heaven)?  And I certainly would not want to lose those. 

But then I checked "start from the last change" and it must have meant last change to sitebuilder plus, because it had almost no files on it before I escaped to use the sitebuilder desktop thereafter.

So, do I check "start from save point"?  

If I screwed up on the sitebuilder plus choice, can I be assured that when I reload the site via desktop and start using the sitebuilder desktop that I will not lose any files "in the cracks"?  Is there a choice I will be presented with when the sitebuilder desktop goes to loading?  Which choice do I make? 

 (I cannot trust the advice of the customer service people, as most of them do not seem to have a working knowledge of the desktop version.  Also, is there a way to assure that I have a customer service person who is competent in the desktop version?)

____ 

 

A user friendly (allowing for and giving permission for users to be "stupid" in not seeing what is readily apparent to the instruction writer) modification, per all good procedure manuals, would be something like this:  (perhaps it should have a help page to refer to for instructions, but I can find no help page right now)

 "Sitebuilder plus:

Start from save point ON SITEBUILDER PLUS? - After you saved, we detected changes to your website.  Do you want to start from the time you LAST saved ON SITEBUILDER PLUS, or from the time of the last change MADE FROM SITEBUILDER DESKTOP?

 FOR CLARIFYING INSTRUCTIONS, SEE   

                                 Start from save point                   Start from last change"

 

If I start from the save point (i.e. supposedly make the wrong choice), will my launching of  Sitebuilder desktop add in all the missing changes automatically or what do I need to do to assure that there is a workable process?

Photo of Keith7184

Keith7184

  • 590 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
  • sad, stuck

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Due to an outage at another company, I am temporarily unable to bring up accounts, so I will look as soon as I can, but the short answer to your question is that Sitebuilder Plus and Sitebuilder desktop don't sync with each other in any way. Each syncs with the published site only. Both Sitebuilders should warn you if the published site and local site are different an give you options.

This message is particualr to Plus and means that the system shows there may have been a change made in Plus that was auto saved, but you never hit the save button and it is inquiring as to if you want to use that or the version from the last time you hit save or publish.

Drew

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.