Sitebuilder Plus Grouping and Degrouping

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archiving inactive conversations.

I am just starting to use SB+ and like it overall.  I use a lot of grouping components and cannot figure out how to degroup a component from the whole. On desktop.... you untick the group button, hold down crtl and click on the item you wish to separate. SB+ does not work like this and I cannot figure out how. Please advise.

Thanks
Pete
Photo of Peter0895

Peter0895

  • 1,962 Points 1k badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 month ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of HannaK

HannaK

  • 588 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Very simple
Click only one item from the group
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 42,958 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hello,

There is not a way to do this in Sitebuilder Plus. You may need to un-group those elements and regroup the elements you want to have connected.
Photo of Peter0895

Peter0895

  • 1,962 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
That's a BUMMER!!!!  I believe my most built up element has 40 to 50 components. To change one item...... is going to SUCK!!!!  :(  Anyway....... maybe that's an item that could be sent over to engineering for them to look at. I find it hard to believe nobody else builds groups. 

Thanks for getting back to me.
Pete
Photo of Peter0895

Peter0895

  • 1,962 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I am trying to do a work around on this issue by performing the needed Grouped Item changes using Desktop and publishing them on a page I named "Groupd-Item-Page". I then open SB+ and refreshing to pull the page into SB+.

I have gotten the new page into SB+ but............ when I make changes on Desktop I cannot get the new page to "refresh", update, etc..... in SB+.  How do I do this manually so I can use it right away? I have tried going to File Manage and refreshing all files. It retains the SB+ page. I tried "unpublishing" the page and then refreshing also.

Please advise
Thanks
Pete
Photo of Peter0895

Peter0895

  • 1,962 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I just found that if I completely sign out of SB+.... sign back in..... the desktop published version incorporates.  Although that is a LONG way around... it works. I am hopeful you have a far better way of doing this?????

Thanks
Pete
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 42,938 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hello,

I am sorry to say that I do not have a workaround for this, but have to warn you about the method you are using. Switching back and forth between Desktop and SB+ is not recommended. It can cause issues with your site and content. Really, once you publish in Sitebuilder Plus, we would suggest that you no longer use Desktop. Continuing to use Desktop can mess up the content published from SB+.
Photo of Peter0895

Peter0895

  • 1,962 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Got it thank you. I see they do not play well together already.  I will keep the desktop only for the grouping change issue.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.