If I were to cancel my service, do I still keep my website?

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Inactive conversation.

I am wondering, if I needed to cancel my service, who does the website belong to? Do I get to keep it? How does this work?
Photo of MK5956

MK5956

  • 180 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 months ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 12,016 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hello MK5956
No, if you cancel your account, you do not keep your website. It is built on our system and cannot be transferred. The most you can do it a site "archive" which will basically just save a copy of any pictures or files you uploaded to the site to keep a copy of them. It will not retain your pages.
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 57,172 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You can keep your domain name. Just keep the registration fees up to date.
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 12,016 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
If you close your account, your domain would expire when it came up for renewal. Registration fees don't go through on closed accounts. So the account would either need to stay open or the domain would need to be transferred.
Photo of Sylvia4168

Sylvia4168

  • 342 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I am trying to cancel my site and it will not let me. On the final page where you hit " Yes, cancel my account" the button isn't working.
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 12,016 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Moving question to relevant conversation

Please reference the new conversation here: Cancel Account
Photo of MK5956

MK5956

  • 180 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Please cancel our account.  The "Yes, cancel my account" button is not working.

Thanks
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 12,016 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hello MK5956
As mentioned on the other question you posted, I can see that your account is set to close and you will not be billed again.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.