How do I shut the store down for maintenance?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Once your store is shut down for maintenance, it will not be visible to your customers. However, if you are logged in as an administrator, then you will be recognized as such, and have the ability to still view your store and work on it.

Video Overview

To set your store as "Down for Maintenance:
1.) Login to your store's Control Panel.

2.) Click on Setup & Tools and then Store Settings.


3.) You can now toggle the Live switch to Down for Maintenance.


4.) The toggle will turn orange and a box will now appear where you can change the message that displays to your customers.


5.) Click Save, and your store will now be shown as down for maintenance.

6.) If you wish to have access to your store, simply click the View Store link in your control panel.


7.) As long as you are logged in as "admin," there will be a message and link displayed that will allow you to view your store for as long as your session is open.


*Please note that it is actually possible to completely customize the webpage that displays when your store is down for maintenance. This can be done by going to Design -> Template Files -> maintenance.html, and editing that file. You will want to make sure that you still have message text in the Store Settings area and you do not delete the "%%GLOBAL_MessageText%%" variable, as it contains the link needed to view your store as an administrator.

Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 243,792 Points 100k badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1

Be the first to post a reply!