How do I remove customer account creation from my store?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
By default, all BigCommerce stores allow customers to register for an account for easy repeat purchasing and wish list creation. It also allows your customers to save an address book for faster future checkouts. If you do not want customers to create accounts in your store, you will need to edit three of your template files: TopMenu.html, checkout_express.html, and styles.css.

1.) In your store's control panel, click on Design.


2.) Click the Template Files tab.


3.) Scroll down to the Panels folder and click the plus sign next to it.


4.) Find TopMenu.html and click Edit.


5.) A new page will open with the code for your menu. Comment out the following areas:


6.) Click Save.


7.) In the left column, find the checkout_express.html file, and click on it.


8.) In the code for your checkout page, take the code highlighted in the picture below, and move it to the indicated area.


9.) Then, comment these areas.


10.) You may change the text that instructs customers by changing the highlighted portion to your own text.


11.) Click Save.


12.) Finally, you may need to erase the vertical line that displays on the checkout page. Click on styles.css in the left column.


13.) Now, search for ".CreateAccount" and comment out the following line, if necessary. (Do not go by line numbers, they may be different depending on your chosen template.)


14.) Click Save.


15.) This is how the store will look on the checkout page. You can see in this example, the text for the instructions to the customer were changed.


Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 243,976 Points 100k badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1

Be the first to post a reply!