How do I redesign my site without losing the current content?

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 12 months ago
  • In Progress
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archived

Using the same website address, I want to completely redesign my site, eventually replacing the current content and look with all new content and a brand new design. How can I keep the current content in place while building the new site? I want to maintain the "old" site until the "new" site will be finished and ready to go live. Once the new material is ready, what do I have to do to replace the old content with the new content? Thanks in advance for your help!
Photo of Daniel2517

Daniel2517

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Laura4138

Laura4138

  • 310 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
You can create brand new pages and links. You can even use some of the content from the old pages , basically reworking old existing pages , but you need to save these reworked pages as new pages by clicking on the "save as" drop-down button .When it's all set to go... THEN you can "unpublish" your old pages in the File Manager and publish the new pages.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 256,986 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
That will work, unfortunately, if you want an entirely new template, you will need to create a new site and start fresh. Once done, then you can move the domain to the new site. The old site will remain working until you switch the domain.
Photo of Laura4138

Laura4138

  • 310 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Can you still copy & paste things from your old site pages if you create a new site?
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 256,986 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Images need to be uploaded through the new builder, but text can be copied from the current published site and copied to the new site.
Photo of Marco6127

Marco6127

  • 158 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Since this seems very permanent, I want to be sure that I understand you correctly.  I too want to redesign my site & not publish it until it is all ready.  Are you saying that it is safe for me to choose the delete & choose new template option and that my site will remain as is until I am ready to publish the new redesigned site?  If not, once I hit the delete button, what will people see if they go to my website?  Thank you.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 256,986 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Marco, to redesign your site while keeping the old site active, you must create a new site. You do not change the template on the existing site. Once you finish the new site, then you can move the domain to it and delete the old site. If you change the template on the existing site, all data will be lost. Does that answer your question?
Photo of Marco6127

Marco6127

  • 158 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Yes.  Thank you.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Community Manager

  • 256,986 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
You're welcome

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.