How do I change from site builder to website builder?

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 4 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archived

How can I switch my website from Sitebuilder to website builder?  I recently started another website for my dad's business.  It automatically led us to create the website in website builder, which is much easier and less expensive and offers more options than sitebuilder.  If I need to delete my website, or content, and start over, that's fine.  When I tried to delete it and start over, I got this message... "We are unable to delete your website because you have a domain name associated with it. Visit our Help Center for more information on deleting a domain or changing your domains site association."  I want to keep my domain, caraperkins.com, but am planning on redoing everything anyway.  Please help.  
Photo of Cara9135

Cara9135

  • 202 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated!

Posted 4 months ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Elyzabeth

Elyzabeth , Official Rep

  • 17,722 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hey there Cara9135

I definitely agree that the newer builder is much easier to work with. To get this builder on your account, you actually just have to add a new site. Go under "Websites Manager" > "Add New Website"

To be able to delete the old site, you just have to move the domain to another site on the account. It is up to you whether you want your current site up while you are building the new one or if you are ok with the down time.

If you are wanting to keep your current site up until the new one is done, just add a new site and start building. Once you are done, we can switch the domain over and at that point, you can delete the old site.

If you ok with downtime and just want to delete the site as soon as possible, add the new site, we can switch the domain over before you build it, and then you can delete the old site.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.