Explanation from Homestead?

• Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Archiving inactive content

Is there an official explanation from Homestead regarding the train wreck I stumbled into today? I have been using Homestead for at least 10 years, I run a business with my site and confidence is shaken. Please advise.
Photo of Andrew9636

Andrew9636

• 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • concerned

Posted 6 months ago

Photo of Andrew9636

Andrew9636

The apparent issue is cloud vs desk top versions of Homestead.  Is my current site safe and supported? Can it be transferred to the cloud version? I became aware of the issue when I tried to build a new site today and fell into a rabbit hole of frustrated customers while trying to learn what happened to the format I am familiar with.....seems like Elizabeth is on her own in trying to explain the issues. Remarkable break down of such a long standing service.
Photo of Les6064

Les6064

• 8,740 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Andrew:

Your current website is not  safe, and according to Homestead it is not supported anymore either. The only thing you need to do is contact the support team to receive an SSL certificate because your site is vulnerable as it stands now to get hacked.
This will help for now but ultimately I would advise you to start working on updating your website to the latest "Website Builder".
I have been with Homestead for twenty years and I also ran a business using the old "Desktop" version. I now use the new version of Website Builder and am glad I did. It offers much more and it also comes with an SSL certificate and a mobile solution and I use the same domain name without the cloud name extension.
Photo of Andrew9636

Andrew9636

Thank you Les.