Do you want to start from the time you saved, or from the time of last change.

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: We have archived this topic as it has either reached a resolution or has become inactive.  If you believe this topic should not have been archived, please let us know, and we would be happy to review it.  You may continue to access this topic as needed fo

I have contacted Customer Service about a problem that pops up almost every time I sign on and want to update my site. It keeps saying: After you saved, we detected a change to your website. Do you want to start from the time you saved, or from the time of last change. Why am I getting these. I know my account hasn't been hacked. I save every page I change. I publish (and wait for the publish bar to complete) every page, plus I publish all pages before signing off.
Photo of Donald7149

Donald7149

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Todd H

Todd H, Social Media Specialist

  • 20,824 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
What can happen is if you have been recently made changes, but your computer or Sitebuilder just idled out, and so when you load back into it, it is asking if you wanted to load from your last saved point (where you Saved) or if you want to load from your last change point (where it was not Saved) and pick up where you last left off.
Photo of Donald7149

Donald7149

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I would agree if it happened once or possibly twice, but this happens almost every single time I change the site. As I noted, I save and publish each page separately. I wait for the publishing pop-up box indicates that it has published at 100%. If I don't get this, I publish it again.
Photo of Michelle7777

Michelle7777

  • 558 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
I understand your frustration, however I think that is one of the new things that's added to the login route. Try not to feel bad because I'm asked the same thing as well. I think its Homestead way of making sure that any changes we have made doesn't get lost by mistake. I look at it as a good thing because we have that double protection. Hopefully, this helps.
(Edited)
Photo of Donald7149

Donald7149

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I don't think it's Homestead's way of making sure changes have been made. I think there is something wrong in the way Homestead processes saves and publishes. I'm glad I'm not the only one this is done to, nor only the 2nd one this is being done to. However, if people like the two of us don't ask the question and get others to ask the same thing, Homestead won't take it is a priority to have it fixed.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I went in and out of your site over a dozen times, letting it time out. The only thing I didn't do is change anything. I never saw this message. I will try to duplicate it as I think of ways to try. Can you tell us how long you spend in Sitebuilder, do you do anything while you are on a page?  If you move an element even 1 pixel, then this message could be triggered on next load. You can also try using Chrome as maybe there is a setting or plug in in your Firefox that is causing it to think there were changes.

If we can get information from you and others that allows us to actually see what is happening, then we can see more clearly where the problem lies. If it is a fundamental system problem, then we would be seeing many more complaints, as the save/publish process has not changed in quite some time. But, there is a possibility that there is something that requires a combination of factors to emerge that is not very common. This can be difficult to track down.
Photo of Donald7149

Donald7149

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Every time I make any changes, I save & publish that page. I never get any error codes or anything to indicate that my page submission was in error or rejected. Before I sign off Site Builder, I do one final publish entire site. Time on site depends on how much I do. If it's pictures, it will obviously take longer than if I change a single copy of a newsletter from a PDF format.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Thank you for the additional information. Next time, after hitting publish all, can you go to the file manager and see that all pages reports as published?
Photo of Michelle7777

Michelle7777

  • 558 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hello again Donald7149, Yes, I understand, just because I'm not bothered by the save issue, doesn't mean, it will not be bothersome to you and possibly others. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to help solve the problem, however I see that the Community Manager Drew is working with you to help resolve the issue. Hopefully, the issue get resolved soon. Take care

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.