delete or don't delete serverfilecache.xml?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Yesterday, I called customer support and the rep upgraded my account to "Site Builder Plus". I do not have the time right now to learn anything/make any adjustments to my site(please do NOT touch ANYTHING). So for now, I am still using the "Desktop" version. However, I am getting an error message every time I log in after I have published my site. It says, "the published copy of this file has recently been deleted" "serverfilecache.xml" "would you like to delete the local copy"? then it gives me 2 options: delete local copy or don't delete. what is this all about? what is that file? what is it referring to? do i need it? what happens if i delete it on purpose or by accident? please explain specifically b/c i can not have yet another "can of worms" open up with Homestead-that is, yet another complication that i do not need.
Photo of Bill5099

Bill5099

  • 3,144 Points 3k badge 2x thumb

Posted 6 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Matt B.

Matt B.

  • 1,434 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Hi Bill5099,

That file is specific only to SiteBuilder Plus, so since SiteBuilder Desktop does not use it you are given that message asking you want to do with it. It honestly does not matter what option you choose, but I would just choose "Don't delete" so that SiteBuilder Plus does not have to rebuild the file the next time you open the site in that version of the program.

Matt
Photo of Bill5099

Bill5099

  • 3,144 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Matt-

you are a gentleman and a scholar. thank you. so i guess i will have to just spend 1 second every time i log into Desktop and hit "don't delete". i keep worrying that something will go wrong either way and i will have to spend endless hours fixing the issue. so i guess i'm safe. phew!

that brings me to...

i am absolutely petrified of using "Plus" b/c i know i if i make any changes in there and "publish" them i will have to do so for the whole site or else the site will look 'distorted' b/c of the "overlapping elements" issue I have been dealing with for 8 years. (+/-)(again please don't touch anything)

so my question is, if i "tinker around" with Plus for a bit and see if i can used to it at some point i suppose i can't really go back, right? that is, if i do use Desktop after using Plus the elements and text boxes will revert back to they way they are in Desktop, right? (i hope i'm making sense) another way of asking it is-does each platform save a different version and then publish what is in there? or does one overlap the other when each is saved?

also, are the Templates any different in Plus? or are they as "static" as they have always been? that is, do they adjust text and elements according to a visitors screen resolution like HTML5 would? i designed my site from scratch years ago and it really needs some updating. it still seems however that regardless of Desktop or Plus nothing has fundamentally changed, or am i not seeing something here. can i try to use a template w/o losing what i have published/saved already?

i only ask all of this to you because you answered my q above succinctly. i would say that 50% of the time calling cust svc is hit or miss. hence the reason i still have Desktop etc.

thanks.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.