Characters and Symbols All Over Our Pages Suddenly

  • 0
  • 36
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Solved
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

Good Morning,

We received comments today from many users that our website was loaded with all types of symbols/characters mixed in with the text on our various pages. We have no idea why this happened but it wasn't from us. I am the only one who has access to the site for editing. In addition to the inconvenience, I am extremely disappointed that this happened with no warning. We host all these events and people tend to visit the site afterwards. How unprofessional that people had to see this today after our event last night.

I went in to some of the pages to clean this up. However, it is all over (including "our coauthors" page which is extensive). I respectively ask, why did this happen? And I also request that someone from your team clean the rest of this up. I have spent over two hours and cannot do anymore.

Please feel free to email me at mezz01@yahoo.com or call 561-371-2171.

Thank you, David
Photo of David4076

David4076

  • 788 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 7 years ago

  • 0
  • 36
Photo of Ginger7970

Ginger7970

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I have random symbols showing up on my site: http://www.empathictherapy.org This is not my error as this has suddenly appeared on pages that have been posted for more than a year. Please repair!
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hi Ginger7970, I can certainly restore your site but I noticed that you published a couple pages on 8/12. If I rollback the site to the fix date, it will erase your recent updates. Would you still like me to roll it back?

Mike
Photo of Ginger7970

Ginger7970

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Yes, Mike please roll back the site. I can re-post easily. Thank you!
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Your site has been restored. Thanks
Photo of Kathryn5692

Kathryn5692

  • 154 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,826 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Please check your email.

Drew
Photo of Bruce1160

Bruce1160

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Thanks for nothing!.


My website is still messed up with odd symbols. I asked you to restore it to a previous date many days ago and you have done nothing. I need to update some pages. Do not restore my site or you will screw up what I am putting on it today. I have already wasted a lot of time fixing it myself so I will continue to make the needed fixes myself. I am looking for some sort of compensation for my time and the fact that you screwed up my site over a week ago and haven't fixed it yet. My site is www.hopehousemaine.com
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,826 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I restored this site last week and check a few pages and they seemed ok. I replied to you on Sunday to check to make sure I got it all. I guess I did not. Can you please let me know that you are out of Sitebuilder and I will restore it again.

Thanks

Drew
Photo of Bruce1160

Bruce1160

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Nothing was ever restored by you. The only fixes were the ones I made. Just leave the site alone and I will fix it myself.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,826 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I will leave it alone.

Drew
Photo of Claudia6139

Claudia6139

  • 62 Points
I just noticed this problem on my site and fixed all the errors on the published pages. HOWEVER, there are many pages in Spanish which are password protected which I believe you call local. I would appreciate YOU restoring those pages to August 8. Please advise that you have received this email and can restore the Spanish language pages.

Also, should something like this happen again, please alert us immediately. Who knows how many people saw our messed up site before I happened by to check on it. Please reply to info@teenlawschool.com
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Please check your email for additional info regarding the restore.
Photo of lori6301

lori6301

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This is ridiculous! Homestead needs to fix this immediately. We cannot edit our site. If its not fixed today customers including myself should find another provider. The only answer I am getting it that it will be fixed soon. Wasn't that 11 days ago???
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hi Lori,

We are very sorry for this issue. Drew, another one of our Community Specialists replied to you 3 days ago which is the day you posted and notified us you had the problem. Click here: https://community.homestead.com/homes...

Did you not get his email? In either case, most of the issues started showing up on/around August 8th or 9th. We have a snapshot of your site from August 4th which we can revert back to if you wish. If you would like us to restore the stie back to this date just reply here and let me know, and I also need to confirm that you are logged out of SiteBuilder. If we restore the site to that date, it is important to know that any changes you made between August 5th and today, would be lost.

Mike
Photo of lori6301

lori6301

  • 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Please leave the site alone. We have spent the last few hour fixing the page that was effected. I did receive Drew's reply but all it said was I am sending you an email then I never received one. This is so disappointing. You really need figure out how to solve your problems more quickly. We had an incident last year that was similar that took almost 2 weeks to resolve. There are too many choices out there for website builders and service providers. You need to get it together in a timely fashion without holding your customers up and also causing them to invest lots of time. That's what we pay you for!
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I see that you contact one of our chat support agents, We will not touch the site.
Photo of David6625

David6625

  • 250 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
leadershipforyou.net is affected, too, in the edit site mode. The actual site has weird characters like diamonds and squares in place of quotation marks or other characters. Sometimes these symbols seem to be appearing for no reason. They weren't there a while back. Don't make any changes to my pages without contacting me first. I demand an explanation about all of this and a review of my published site with these weird characters and an explanation about all the weird characters in the edit mode. Basically, I'm dead in the water at one of the two busiest times of the year for me.

Why weren't we all told about this?

I noticed some weird character stuff a few days ago like small, square boxes replacing certain characters/letters. Thought it was me. Now the whole site is screwed up when I try to edit it. You should individually contact every customer and keep them posted hourly on your progress in fixing this. Me thinks you got hacked and all of our data is probably in the hands of some troublemaker! You better start planning to refund/credit some weeks/months to everyone's accounts from the date this first started until you get it all fixed--and if you have to take our sites back to an earlier date and we have to update it all manually again, you should provide us refunds/credits for all the time it will take us to do all that! Very disappointed in your company that I had otherwise been pleased with for all the time I've been a customer. Man, I hate to start over somewhere else, but some of these other web hosting sites look a lot better right now with better technology, better customer/troubleshooting service, and comparable prices--if not better. Give me some reasons not to do so in terms of quick help and refunds.
Photo of David6625

David6625

  • 250 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
As I read these other complaints, I can't believe that it's been 11 days and it's still not fixed? No idea what caused it? No idea how to fix it except to take it back to an early save point. How incompetent can everyone be? Don't you have safeguards in place for this kind of stuff or are you like that dimwit who put his own social security number out in public saying that no one could use it without him knowing it. Only he found out that multiple people had used it and he didn't know until he got collection calls from some companies? Does that guy own your business?
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
David6625, Please check your email for a personal message.
Photo of Anthony1390

Anthony1390

  • 72 Points
This is ridiculous. My website was completely unreadable because of this issue. I fixed the problem myself (which took a few hours) but now, with the issue seemingly unresolved, I find myself checking my website every hour or so just to make sure it hasn't been screwed up again.

There needs to be better communication from Homestead. Even if it's just a general message on the progress of the solution.
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hello Anthony1390, Please check your email for a personal message.
Photo of Jill5097

Jill5097

  • 270 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I am with Tony.... I have no faith that the problem is really fixed....especially since their has not been an "official message" posted for days. I have several events pending with publicity in the newspaper and other websites referencing our site...so please assure us that the problem will not erupt again soon...or ever again. I want to stop checking it several times a day myself! JGK
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Hello Jill5097, Please check your email for a personal message.
Photo of Kathryn5692

Kathryn5692

  • 154 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I am so frustrated by this! Your responses are nonsensical, and the problem still isn't fixed. Pages and pages in the middle of my site are nonsense, and I can't allow a reset because of MANY additions that were added before I discovered the problem.
I keep getting automated responses.
This is outrageous. I expected better of Intuit.
Kathryn www.whoneedslight.org
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Kathryn, I have emailed both you, and your webmaster at the email addresses you supplied me but have not heard back from either of you.
Photo of Kathryn2608

Kathryn2608

  • 414 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I'm having the same issues!
Photo of Kathryn5692

Kathryn5692

  • 154 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Photo of Mike F.

Mike F., Alum

  • 184,718 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Official Response
We are extremely sorry for the issues regarding the special characters. It did take our developers a few days to figure out the cause and the best way to fix the issue. Last week they did run a script that automatically restored any of the sites, that had not been logged into since the errors occurred. There were however a small % of sites that were excluded from the restore batch because they were logged into or updates were made to them, and the development team did not want to override those updates.

For any customer that is still seeing the strange characters, your site was most likely excluded from the restore batch. As of this writing, we can still restore most sites to the date of August 4th, but will not do so unless you instruct us to as we do not want to override any of your changes.

If you made significant changes to your site after August 8th, and do not want to restore the entire site, please contact us to discuss alternatives as we would like to whatever is fair for each customer as everyone has different circumstances.

You can contact Live Chat support by clicking the Help button at the top of the page, or speak to a live representative at 800-710-1998. For those of you who have posted to this Community thread, I will reach out to you via email. Please do not contact more than one support channel as it will complicate and slow down our ability to properly service everyone.

Thank you.
Photo of Julia9894

Julia9894

  • 70 Points
I am having the same problem. There are question marks on our Practice Sessions Page where there shouldn't be. Can someone please help?

Thank you
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,826 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
It looks like you got this resolved. The page looks good on our end. Let us know if you need anything else.

Drew
Photo of Ricky9588

Ricky9588

  • 92 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
I am have the same problem on my site. Can you please restore! Thank you so much.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,826 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
When was the last time you saw the site looking correct?

Drew
Photo of Ricky9588

Ricky9588

  • 92 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
How do I get rid of the A^ that are in place of spaces?.


In my menu, A^ is in place of where a space would be. How do I get rid of this without having to delete manually and re-add spaces?

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.