3-4 WEEKS DOWN, AND NO PRIOR CLIENT NOTIFICATION? UNACCEPTABLE!!!

  • 0
  • 5
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • In Progress
Merged

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Continued data migration 12/12/2014

After two calls to technical assistance and an hour's wait on hold, I learned that the powers-that-be knew ahead of time that a 3-4 week moratorium for clients to be able to access their sites was going to occur. However, they never directly notified any of their clients ahead of time, which would have at least allowed clients to put something on their websites to notify visitors that the site would not be updated for that 3-4 week period. A client has to specifically request a credit for this down time, rather than automatically being given a credit for the services they were denied during this period. What kind of customer service is this? Any shut-down of this length should necessitate prior direct client notification. If I were giving a customer satisfaction rating to Homestead Technologies, it would be a minus-5 stars at this point.
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
  • angry and frustrated!

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 5
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I've been down a few days. Today I'm back. I hope it will improve as they complete there new system installation.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Roger1346,

The extent of what was known is that we knew there would be slowed performance for Sitebuilder. It was never indicated that some people would have no access for the entire length of the window. I do not know who you spoke with, but either they were wrong, or they didn't explain it well. Most customers were not affected at all. It is typically accounts with many sites or large sites. I completely agree with the notification. I placed an announcement as soon as I knew. It should have been earlier. I am trying to organize a system for placing these notices much earlier. I am very sorry for you inconvenience.

Drew
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
So what does that mean?  Customers with many sites or large sites were weren't affected or vice-versa?  I'm one person running a site for a non-profit school and I can't get this damn product to do anything.  Again, I guess it's screw the little guy.
(Edited)
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Joe2650,

It is the larger accounts that are more severely affected. I was just able to load your site in Sitebuilder. What happens when you try?

Drew
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I think they needed better planning regarding the transition process. The should have planned it for a time period less critical for retail and online business.
Photo of Gerry5916

Gerry5916

  • 280 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Giving people notification would have helped. They could have made plans to get through the outage. I could have updated and made sure everything was up to date through the web browser version of Sitebuilder. I have to wait until your done and there isn't anything I can do. It is very frustrating. 
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Server 502 error.  Try and make a change and sometimes it takes, other times you get an Sitebuilder Plus unresponsive; Kill and Wait.  You always have to kill because it never clears itself.  When you try to reload, it locks up and you have to shut down either IE or Chrome.  Sometime it doesn't load at all.

And feel free to delete my posts, but understand the frustration of the customer is NOT the customer's fault but the poor communication process employed by the hosting service.  We have an expectation of being kept updated as to what is happening and how it will affect dealing with OUR "customers".

And I don't need to be told by technical support that their "solution" is to keep on trying to load the site.  I've been trying to do that for hours on end.   As I told Audrey when I finally got through on my third try (35 and 47 minute waits the first 2 times before hanging up) with technical support; I've had it.  I've had 2 heart attacks already; I don't need your product setting me up for a third.

AND...I just tried putting two images on my Index page and hit the Save button, then then the Publish Entire Site button and it came back with a "Homestead.com not responding" error.

And then after trying to Recover the page, it comes back with a "Page Can't Be Displayed" error.  And I'm supposed to be satisfied with that?


OH... and twice it came back and told me my "Published Copies" were different than my "Local Copies" and to choose which ones I wanted.  I did nothing to load different pages.  Why is that?

(Edited)
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I understand Joe2650,

I agree with you about the communication. I wish I had earlier notice as well and I could have posted it.

No you shouldn't be satisfied with these issues and I am sorry. Your site is right in the area of size that I begin to see Plus not loading at all. I haven't seen anything quite like this before. Is it ok if I use your site error 404 page to do some testing on adding and publishing things?

I don't want to delete posts and I do understand your position, but I also have our guidelines and need to try to keep the community as helpful and friendly as possible. I hope you understand.

Drew
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Go ahead...What I have up doesn't need to be changed for a couple of days.
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Posting the information about a potential shut-down is not sufficient ... many of us do not read the blog or communications page ... clients most likely to be affected (i.e. as you mentioned, larger sites or clients with multiple sites) should be notified by e-mail. What happened to the old adage, "The customer always should come first"? After all, without us supporting you through our payments, your company wouldn't exist. Management making decisions that will affect clients in such an adverse way need to think ahead of time, "How can we make this less inconvenient and have the smallest adverse impact on our paying customers?"
Photo of Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson

  • 188 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I feel incredibly sorry for the homestead employees stuck with dealing with frustrated customers like myself. November 20 this started, it is now December 9. Why isn't there a daily update indicating what progress has been made. I have numerous academic websites some of them large, some of them fairly small. I have been a customer since you had customers--and before that, when you were supported by advertising and offered websites "free". WHAT IS THE LATEST ESTIMATE OF THE TIME NECESSARY TO RESTORE THE DESKTOP SITEBUILDER? WHAT IS THE LATEST ESTIMATE WHEN SITEBUILDER PLUS WILL BE UP TO SPEED. i HAVE NOW BEEN TRYING TO GET ONTO PLUS FOR OVER AN HOUR.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Michael Swanson,

Typically we don't post an update unless there is a change. I haven't been notified of any changes, so it should still be the end of the week for the migration to end. The expectation is that you should be able to use Sitebuilder after migration. It is possible that users may need to do a clean install. Our developers will also be watching to see if they need to correct anything in some accounts.

Drew
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I can't get on either. I am hoping they get this project finished soon. I am still wishing visitors a Happy Thanksgiving. I am waiting for the thumbs up sign.
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Thanks Drew. I will be patient.
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Drew,

With all due respect, there was nothing "typical" about this issue.  This was a total snafu on the part of an individual or individuals in the management chain of command who didn't feel it necessary, or wasn't aware of the extent and impact of this issue, to change the policy about notifications.  I hope the responsible people in your company realize the problems that were caused with this and make a concerted effort to change that policy.

Photo of Tim5862

Tim5862

  • 1,774 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Well said Joe, this is absolutely awful service and communication.

If this is an example of an Endurance upgrade in service, I don't need it and will find a comparable alternative I assure you.

No one can possibly do business under these circumstances.

Very, very disappointed.
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Take some time off. You're making yourself ill. Maybe they'll learn from this but there's nothing they can do now. They will complete this transition soon.
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Drew,


And finally, the company should not look at this as a mistake, but as an opportunity to improve your business by improving the customer connection.  We'd rather hear good or bad news up front because that means there's someone taking ownership. Having to find out about problems on our own means someone is "asleep at the switch".  Enough said on my part.  Hope this is a lesson learned. 

Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Joe2650,

I fully agree.
Photo of Richard8458

Richard8458

  • 360 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
May I add that whomever made the decision to go forward with this failed 'migration' chose the worst possible time to do it!  Holiday season - we make numerous changes to our site for Holiday sales.  The last change I was able to make was to remove the sale after Thanksgiving weekend.  Have been unable to get in since and I cannot run our Christmas sale.  This is a critical time for businesses and Homestead chose to shut us down!  Totally unacceptable.  I have spoken with two people who have both told me it will be fixed within 24 - 48 hours... time has long passed.
I do expect a credit for this month... I should also get lost revenue!
Photo of Terri3194

Terri3194

  • 492 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
yes, worst possible timing!  I keep being told repeatedly-  in the "next one day"  
I too have lost many customers and revenue. Things impossible to regain.
Photo of Trevor3986

Trevor3986

  • 210 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
You say this is effecting the larger accounts and larger websites more. Can you please confirm what your definition of large and how many websites. I am trying to react to your problems with work arounds and need to know if I reduce the number of pages in a website or delete some of my websites will it help me when using sitebuilder? Also, what type of credit is your 'management' willing to issue for the inconvenience? I acknowledge the monthly subscription amount is not huge, but it is the principle. Without a doubt, your decisions and the consequences of your decisions have cost me thousands in lost revenue and quite frankly at this time of the year, it will significantly impact what gifts our kids receive this Christmas. I know I'm whining now, but I want you guys to know that while your upper management may celebrate the festive season without much interruption, my family will struggle with whats not put on the table and under the tree. Please have your upper management address this. Our season has been ruined. Really ruined!
Photo of Richard8458

Richard8458

  • 360 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Easily the most important time of the year and Homestead is killing us. Lost revenue big time. Yup, our attorney is recommending a lawsuit for damages. Anyone else interested?
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
While it's cathartic to post here on the blog page, if every customer impacted by this debacle takes the time to write to the corporate offices, it would be so much more effective. The people who make these decisions are not the people reading these postings ... the address is Homestead Technologies, Inc., 10 Corporate Drive, Burlington, MA 01803. Justin Kitch is the CEO. Maybe if enough of us would take a minute to express our dissatisfaction, it would avoid this problem occurring again.  If anyone participates in "Linked In," he has a page there. Problems won't be corrected if they don't reach someone with the power to make the change.    
Photo of Trevor3986

Trevor3986

  • 210 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I do not believe that Justin Kitch is the CEO of Homestead and has not been for several years. Intuit originally purchased Homestead and now Endurance has purchased Homestead from Intuit. This is part of the problem. Justin was always very accessible to customers and very transparent. Nobody really knows who is in charge of the Homestead division within Endurance. Who is making the decisions? Who is truly accountable? 
Photo of Bryon7394

Bryon7394

  • 912 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
The biggest mistake I made as a novice was going with Homestead. I tell everyone I can this. Horrible product, no customer service, No upgrade of anything for two years. Please tell me that this upgrade will do something to help make my life easier and my website will be helped in some way. How about restoring FTP so I can upload a sitemap quickly or some drop down menus so I don't look like a 90's website. . Please go back a year and a half and reread your reply's to many of the requests of customers and see that absolutely no changes have been added. Please research when MooMooMath can log in again and don't just give me a canned answer. Help us. 
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
You're remarks inflamatory are addressed to the community. We are on your side.
Photo of Terri3194

Terri3194

  • 492 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
has anyone else seen this? I was trying to get on to the live chat and this is posted at the beginning
UPDATE: Our data center upgrade is scheduled to be complete by end of month. You may experience intermittent
slowness or issues when logging into your Sitebuilder Plus and SiteBuilder desktop sites until then.
We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and thank you for your understanding. 

So now it is going to be another 3+ weeks??

UNBELIEVABLE !!!!!
Photo of Patsy Ann

Patsy Ann

  • 1,830 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
It better NOT be another 2 or 3 weeks.  They said the 12th and I am expecting to wake up on the 12th and start working again!
Photo of Gerry5916

Gerry5916

  • 280 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Drew, can you comment on this? Will this outage be over on the 12th or the end of the month (6 weeks??) And will we need to reinstall Sitebuilder or will it work correctly since the data has been migrated to Texas. And seriously, how can Homestead expect to grow or simply maintain the customers they do have if they have an outage of this duration? People and customers expect consistency. I'm afraid folks are losing a lot of customers and page views and will have to build them up again because customers are now out of the habit of visiting the website. And there was no warning to prepare.  Well, hopefully, it will be over on Dec. 12. Drew?
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
For a brief and shining moment this afternoon, I was able to do some desktop updates ... but still cannot publish the pages. Alas, once again I can't even get Sitebuilder to open ... but perhaps there is light at the end of the tunnel!
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Roger1346,

You may have been affected by a different outage earlier, in the old data center, but I agree, hopefully we have the light at the end of the tunnel. .
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Gerry5916,

I'll have an update tomorrow. I suspect that their may be at least some delay due to the router outages and today's fault in the old center, but I do not know, so kindly wait until I post an update tomorrow.

Thanks

Drew
Photo of Terri3194

Terri3194

  • 492 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Well....here it is the 12th. I was just told it would be fixed a few days ago..then I was told the end of the week. Seriously?? The end of the MONTH!!! I will be bankrupt by then! This is TOTALLY unacceptable!! There must be some way for me to be able to access my site? 
 Yes I have been told it is due to the size, but really that is NOT my fault, YES it is a big site, I have been with Homestead since 1999. They moved some of my sites and sure I can get into them to edit, but they don't publish correctly and the main site, I have no access to, that is the one that  is the portal to all the others, that is the one that I put the links to the other sites. I am going broke here!!  My season it pretty much ruined. Getting bills paid is in question..................Christmas?  Not going to happen around here.    Can't even begin to imagine the long term damage this has caused. I spent 15 years promoting my website, getting the rankings on the search engines..........this is a catastrophe.  Help.............someone.................please?
Photo of Trevor3986

Trevor3986

  • 210 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
The silence from Endurance International (the parent company of Homestead) is deafening and infuriating. The CEO is ultimately responsible and we have heard nothing from him. In fact, we have not heard anything from anyone from Senior Management. Why? Why? Why? My Christmas season has also been ruined and Homestead act as if they don't care. The front-line Customer Service have been put out as lambs for the slaughter. They are trying to be professional, but they are just as frustrated. Does Hari Ravichandran care that my family's Christmas season has been ruined?
Photo of Bryon7394

Bryon7394

  • 912 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Drew
Do you have an update for us?
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Yes ... I'm sure we'd all love to hear the latest update from Drew ... if only to see what new kind of excuse they've dreamed up. When I mentioned I was able to open Sitebuilder for about 10 minutes yesterday (could make changes but not publish -- like that's useful!), the response from Drew was that they "had an outage in the old data center." Really??  That's a new one ... Truly, my prayers and blessings go out to everyone affected so adversely by this ridiculous and inexcusable situation ... in my case, I'm trying to post pictures of animals for a no-kill shelter ... so while it's inconvenient, they'll be adopted eventually with or without Homestead ... I feel for all of you whose e-commerce is dead in the water ... and also wonder about the huge black hole in which management seems to have hidden itself.
Photo of Tim5862

Tim5862

  • 1,774 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
This service is a BLANKING JOKE!

THERE'S NO EXCUSE FOR THIS TREATMENT.

I'm contacting the ATTORNEY GENERAL of MASSACHUSETTS and let Endurance explain it to them. They can also explain about what they're going to do about our damages and lost revenue.

Endurance could of at least waited until January or February to pull this FIASCO!

THIS STINX
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Not that this is the same, but this reminds me so much of EA Sports and the Tiger Woods online game.  EA put it out and starting doing some upgrades and corrections based on bug reports from the users.  Then those updates got fewer and fewer; EA had all different kinds of excuses.  Then they started dumping negative comments from forum users.  Then they stopped responding to negative comments; then to any comment at all.  Then they dumped the whole project and left old users in the lurch and still continued to sell the product to any nitwit who would buy it not knowing what was going on.  From a product standpoint, I don't see a parallel; from a responsive and responsibility/ownership standpoint - you tell me.
Photo of michael1918

michael1918

  • 314 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
This company is Ruining me!! LAST MONTH, EVERY HOMESTEAD WEBSITE FLAGGED UP ON GOOGLE AS BEING MALWARE! NOW THIS!??
THIS WEEK IS THE MOST IMPORTANT WEEK OF THE YEAR FOR ME FINANCIALLY. I CANNOT UPLOAD MY PROMOTION! NO PRICES! I CANT WAIT UNTIL 2 WEEKS TIME! PLEASE HELP!
Photo of michael1918

michael1918

  • 314 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
error Error Message

Oops! Your page could not be saved, possibly due to a network or server issue. Try saving the page again, and if it still doesn't work, call us at: 1-800-710-1998 (Error Code: 0x19)

THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON ALL WEEK!

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.