3-4 WEEKS DOWN, AND NO PRIOR CLIENT NOTIFICATION? UNACCEPTABLE!!!

  • 0
  • 5
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • In Progress
Merged

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Continued data migration 12/12/2014

After two calls to technical assistance and an hour's wait on hold, I learned that the powers-that-be knew ahead of time that a 3-4 week moratorium for clients to be able to access their sites was going to occur. However, they never directly notified any of their clients ahead of time, which would have at least allowed clients to put something on their websites to notify visitors that the site would not be updated for that 3-4 week period. A client has to specifically request a credit for this down time, rather than automatically being given a credit for the services they were denied during this period. What kind of customer service is this? Any shut-down of this length should necessitate prior direct client notification. If I were giving a customer satisfaction rating to Homestead Technologies, it would be a minus-5 stars at this point.
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
  • angry and frustrated!

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 5
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I've been down a few days. Today I'm back. I hope it will improve as they complete there new system installation.
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Roger1346,

The extent of what was known is that we knew there would be slowed performance for Sitebuilder. It was never indicated that some people would have no access for the entire length of the window. I do not know who you spoke with, but either they were wrong, or they didn't explain it well. Most customers were not affected at all. It is typically accounts with many sites or large sites. I completely agree with the notification. I placed an announcement as soon as I knew. It should have been earlier. I am trying to organize a system for placing these notices much earlier. I am very sorry for you inconvenience.

Drew
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
So what does that mean?  Customers with many sites or large sites were weren't affected or vice-versa?  I'm one person running a site for a non-profit school and I can't get this damn product to do anything.  Again, I guess it's screw the little guy.
(Edited)
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
Joe2650,

It is the larger accounts that are more severely affected. I was just able to load your site in Sitebuilder. What happens when you try?

Drew
Photo of themieleman

themieleman, Champion

  • 65,808 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
I think they needed better planning regarding the transition process. The should have planned it for a time period less critical for retail and online business.
Photo of Gerry5916

Gerry5916

  • 280 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Giving people notification would have helped. They could have made plans to get through the outage. I could have updated and made sure everything was up to date through the web browser version of Sitebuilder. I have to wait until your done and there isn't anything I can do. It is very frustrating. 
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Server 502 error.  Try and make a change and sometimes it takes, other times you get an Sitebuilder Plus unresponsive; Kill and Wait.  You always have to kill because it never clears itself.  When you try to reload, it locks up and you have to shut down either IE or Chrome.  Sometime it doesn't load at all.

And feel free to delete my posts, but understand the frustration of the customer is NOT the customer's fault but the poor communication process employed by the hosting service.  We have an expectation of being kept updated as to what is happening and how it will affect dealing with OUR "customers".

And I don't need to be told by technical support that their "solution" is to keep on trying to load the site.  I've been trying to do that for hours on end.   As I told Audrey when I finally got through on my third try (35 and 47 minute waits the first 2 times before hanging up) with technical support; I've had it.  I've had 2 heart attacks already; I don't need your product setting me up for a third.

AND...I just tried putting two images on my Index page and hit the Save button, then then the Publish Entire Site button and it came back with a "Homestead.com not responding" error.

And then after trying to Recover the page, it comes back with a "Page Can't Be Displayed" error.  And I'm supposed to be satisfied with that?


OH... and twice it came back and told me my "Published Copies" were different than my "Local Copies" and to choose which ones I wanted.  I did nothing to load different pages.  Why is that?

(Edited)
Photo of Drew N

Drew N, Alum

  • 262,816 Points 100k badge 2x thumb
I understand Joe2650,

I agree with you about the communication. I wish I had earlier notice as well and I could have posted it.

No you shouldn't be satisfied with these issues and I am sorry. Your site is right in the area of size that I begin to see Plus not loading at all. I haven't seen anything quite like this before. Is it ok if I use your site error 404 page to do some testing on adding and publishing things?

I don't want to delete posts and I do understand your position, but I also have our guidelines and need to try to keep the community as helpful and friendly as possible. I hope you understand.

Drew
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Go ahead...What I have up doesn't need to be changed for a couple of days.
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Posting the information about a potential shut-down is not sufficient ... many of us do not read the blog or communications page ... clients most likely to be affected (i.e. as you mentioned, larger sites or clients with multiple sites) should be notified by e-mail. What happened to the old adage, "The customer always should come first"? After all, without us supporting you through our payments, your company wouldn't exist. Management making decisions that will affect clients in such an adverse way need to think ahead of time, "How can we make this less inconvenient and have the smallest adverse impact on our paying customers?"
Photo of Michael Swanson

Michael Swanson

  • 188 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I feel incredibly sorry for the homestead employees stuck with dealing with frustrated customers like myself. November 20 this started, it is now December 9. Why isn't there a daily update indicating what progress has been made. I have numerous academic websites some of them large, some of them fairly small. I have been a customer since you had customers--and before that, when you were supported by advertising and offered websites "free". WHAT IS THE LATEST ESTIMATE OF THE TIME NECESSARY TO RESTORE THE DESKTOP SITEBUILDER? WHAT IS THE LATEST ESTIMATE WHEN SITEBUILDER PLUS WILL BE UP TO SPEED. i HAVE NOW BEEN TRYING TO GET ONTO PLUS FOR OVER AN HOUR.
Photo of Roger1346

Roger1346

  • 272 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Yes ... I'm sure we'd all love to hear the latest update from Drew ... if only to see what new kind of excuse they've dreamed up. When I mentioned I was able to open Sitebuilder for about 10 minutes yesterday (could make changes but not publish -- like that's useful!), the response from Drew was that they "had an outage in the old data center." Really??  That's a new one ... Truly, my prayers and blessings go out to everyone affected so adversely by this ridiculous and inexcusable situation ... in my case, I'm trying to post pictures of animals for a no-kill shelter ... so while it's inconvenient, they'll be adopted eventually with or without Homestead ... I feel for all of you whose e-commerce is dead in the water ... and also wonder about the huge black hole in which management seems to have hidden itself.
Photo of Tim5862

Tim5862

  • 1,774 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
This service is a BLANKING JOKE!

THERE'S NO EXCUSE FOR THIS TREATMENT.

I'm contacting the ATTORNEY GENERAL of MASSACHUSETTS and let Endurance explain it to them. They can also explain about what they're going to do about our damages and lost revenue.

Endurance could of at least waited until January or February to pull this FIASCO!

THIS STINX
Photo of Joe2650

Joe2650

  • 592 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Not that this is the same, but this reminds me so much of EA Sports and the Tiger Woods online game.  EA put it out and starting doing some upgrades and corrections based on bug reports from the users.  Then those updates got fewer and fewer; EA had all different kinds of excuses.  Then they started dumping negative comments from forum users.  Then they stopped responding to negative comments; then to any comment at all.  Then they dumped the whole project and left old users in the lurch and still continued to sell the product to any nitwit who would buy it not knowing what was going on.  From a product standpoint, I don't see a parallel; from a responsive and responsibility/ownership standpoint - you tell me.
Photo of michael1918

michael1918

  • 314 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
This company is Ruining me!! LAST MONTH, EVERY HOMESTEAD WEBSITE FLAGGED UP ON GOOGLE AS BEING MALWARE! NOW THIS!??
THIS WEEK IS THE MOST IMPORTANT WEEK OF THE YEAR FOR ME FINANCIALLY. I CANNOT UPLOAD MY PROMOTION! NO PRICES! I CANT WAIT UNTIL 2 WEEKS TIME! PLEASE HELP!
Photo of michael1918

michael1918

  • 314 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
error Error Message

Oops! Your page could not be saved, possibly due to a network or server issue. Try saving the page again, and if it still doesn't work, call us at: 1-800-710-1998 (Error Code: 0x19)

THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON ALL WEEK!

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.